What Are Chakras

There are 7 main chakras which are part of our energetic body. They are our centres of spiritual power that run the length of our body, from the lower torso (root chakra) to the crown of head (crown chakra).

Chakras_map_svgThe chakras are whirling vortices of energy which are aligned with the endocrine system (the organs which secrete hormones such as adrenalin, cortisone and thyroxine into the body).

Chakras and Their Corresponding Endocrine Glands

Root or base chakra: adrenals

Sacral chakra: ovaries/testes

Solar plexus chakra: pancreas

Heart chakra: thymus

Throat chakra: thyroid/parathyroids

Third eye chakra: pineal

Crown chakra: pituarity

When chakras are in balance so should be the endocrine system and vice versa. However, modern lifestyles tend to work against the equilibrium of the endocrine glands, which in turn creates blockages or imbalances in our energy glands (chakras).

For those who study the practise of yoga and or meditation, it will come as no surprise that ancient yogis knew the chakras and endocrine system were interrelated and by balancing the chakras it would in turn heal the endocrine system. If you practice the Five Tibetan Rites each day it will go a long way to balance the chakras, which will keep you young and healthy. Click here to learn more.