Wheat-Free Food List

One of the first questions I get asked when telling others of my wheat-free lifestyle is:

‘What do you eat if you don’t eat bread or pasta?’

The answer to that question is simple…lots of things.

Bread and other wheat-based foods are such staples in the Western diet that most cannot begin to fathom where to start a life without them.

As a helping hand, I have compiled a list of foods you can include when adapting to a wheat-free lifestyle.

Note: Because wheat is hidden in many foods always read the labels. If there is an ingredients label there’s always a chance it may contain wheat.

Wheat-Free Food List… foods to be eaten freely

All meat, offal, fish, chicken and turkey (providing they are not coated in breadcrumbs or batter. Sausages, burgers and meatballs all tend to contain wheat).

Milk, cream and most cheeses (check label on cheese, especially cream cheese)

Yoghurt

Butter, lard, vegetable and nut oils

Eggs

All fruit

All vegetables, including potatoes

Pulses (beans, lentils and peas, including baked beans and hummus)

Nuts and seeds

Jam, honey and jelly

Gluten/wheat-free bread and pasta

Grains and Wheat Alternatives

Oats (if gluten intolerant make sure gluten-free), porridge

Rice, brown and white, also rice noodles (vermicelli)

Buckwheat, grains and flour

Millet, grains and cereal

Maize, corn and polenta

Flaxseed, otherwise known as linseed

Tapioca, pearls or flour

Quinoa

Wheat-free breakfast cereal

Snacks and Treats

Chocolate: dark, milk and white

Potato crisps

Plain nachos

Dips: guacamole, sour cream and chives, salsa etc.

Oat cakes

Rice cakes

Nuts and seeds

Note: always read labels on all snacks and sweet treats. At wheatfreewonder we do not recommend refined foods or sugars but as it is difficult to live in this world without them; we recommend the 80/20 guideline: 80% of your food intake should be made up of wholesome, natural foods and no more than 20% on treats or snacks.

Drinks

Coffee

Tea

Water

Cordial

Soda

Milk

Tonic

Fizzy drinks (sugary drinks are not recommended and should only be had occasionally, however, avoid anything with aspartame, e.g. diet drinks, as it is toxic to the body)

Alcohol

All wines

Spirits

Lager: there are very few wheat-free beers or lagers except for: Stella Artois, Budweiser, Michelob and Corona. Also check the specialist free-from sections in supermarkets or online.

Vegetarian Protein

Quorn mince and pieces (may contain gluten)

Tofu

Soya

Pulses and lentils

Yoghurt

Cheese

Nuts/seeds

Avocado

Eggs

Cooking/Baking Ingredients and Condiments

Unrefined salt

Whole peppercorns

Mustard

Mayonnaise

Salad Cream

Vinegar: balsamic, wine, apple-cider, malt (contains gluten)

Unrefined sugar

Treacle/molasses

Gluten/wheat-free flours

Eggs

Ground almonds

Coconut, desiccated, cream, milk or oil

Cocoa powder

Honey

Golden syrup

Rice flour

Potato flour or starch

Corn flour (to thicken gravy or sauces)

Arrowroot (used the same way as corn flour)

Bicarbonate of soda

Cream of tartar

Vanilla essence

Dried fruit

Nuts/ seeds

Yeast

Tips for Eating Out:

Many eateries now offer gluten-free choices. Check ahead with restaurant if they have a wheat/gluten-free menu.

Ask if you can take your own wheat-free pasta for them to cook..

When ordering, chose meat, chicken or fish served with potatoes, vegetables, rice or salad.

If ordering a sauce to accompany your meal, check with the server that it does not contain wheat.

Free-From Aisle

Most supermarkets now have an aisle with gluten-free breads, pastas, crackers and baking ingredients to make the wheat-free lifestyle easier.  

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

©Diane Brown

 

 

Comments are closed.